+Most Popular Authors | +Most Productive Authors

Philip K. Dick

Full Name: Philip K. Dick
Gender: Male
Hometown: Chicago, Illinois
Born: 1928-12-16
Died: 1982-03-02
Number of Works: 466
Philip K. Dick was born in Chicago in 1928 and lived most of his life in California. He briefly attended the University of California, but dropped out before completing any classes. In 1952, he began writing professionally and proceeded to write numerous novels and short-story collections. He won the Hugo Award for the best novel in 1962 for The Man in the High Castle and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best novel of the year in 1974 for Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said. Philip K. Dick died on March 2, 1982, in Santa Ana, California, of heart failure following a stroke.

In addition to 44 published novels, Dick wrote approximately 121 short stories, most of which appeared in science fiction magazines during his lifetime.Although Dick spent most of his career as a writer in near-poverty,ten of his stories have been adapted into popular films since his death, including Blade Runner, Total Recall, A Scanner Darkly, Minority Report, Paycheck, Next, Screamers, and The Adjustment Bureau. In 2005, Time magazine named Ubik one of the one hundred greatest English-language novels published since 1923.In 2007, Dick became the first science fiction writer to be included in The Library of America series.


ISBN: 0345404475, 9780345404473
Keywords: sheep, electric, dream, androids
Pages: 244
Published: 1968
  • Rating: 80%

By 2021, the World War had killed millions, driving entire species into extinction and sending mankind off-planet. Those who remained coveted any living creature and for people who couldn't afford one, companies built incredibly realistic simulacrae: horses, birds, cats, sheep . . . even humans.
ISBN: 0679740678, 9780679740674
Keywords: castle, man
Pages: 259
Published: 1962
  • Rating: 80%

It's America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. the few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some 20 years earlier the United States lost a war, and is now occupied jointly by Nazi Germany and Japan. This harrowing, Hugo Award-winning novel is the work that established Philip K. Dick as an innovator in science fiction while breaking the barrier between science fiction and the serious novel of ideas. In it Dick offers a haunting vision of history as a nightmare from which it may just be possible to awake
ISBN: 057507681X, 9780575076815
Keywords: darkly, scanner
Pages: 288
Published: 1977
  • Rating: 80%

Mind- & reality-bending drugs factor often in Philip K. Dick's influential SF stories. A Scanner Darkly cuts closest to the bone, drawing on his own experience with chemicals & on his friends who died from drug abuse. It's blackly farcical, full of comic-surreal conversations between people whose synapses are partly fried, paranoid logic & bad trips like one whose victim spends subjective eternity having his sins read to him, in shifts, by compound-eyed aliens. (11,000 years pass to his discovery of masturbation.) Antihero Bob Arctor is forced by his double life into warring person
ISBN: 8498000831, 9788498000832
Keywords: ubik
Pages: 297
Published: 1969
  • Rating: 80%

Glen Runciter ha muerto. ¿O lo han hecho todos los demás? Esta cáustica comedia metafísica de muerte y salvación (servida en cómodo aerosol) es un tour de force de amenaza paranoica y diversión sin trabas, en la que los fallecidos dan consejos comerciales, compran su siguiente encarnación y corren continuamente el riesgo de morir de nuevo. Philip K. Dick no alcanzó la cúspide de su fama hasta después de su muerte. Antes de ella, nos había ofrecido ya obras tan famosas como El hombre en el castillo, ¿Sueñan los androides con ovejas eléctricas? y Ubik, considerada la mejor de toda
ISBN: 0679734465, 9780679734468
Keywords: valis
Pages: 242
Published: 1981
  • Rating: 80%

The fact that what Dick is entertaining us about is reality and madness, time and death, sin and salvation -?this has escaped most critics. Nobody notices that we have our own homegrown Borges, and have had him for thirty years. - Ursula K. Le Guin, New Republic Although known during his lifetime as a writer of science fiction, and more recently as the inspiration for such films as Blade Runner and Total Recall, Philip K. Dick properly belongs in the tradition of Vonnegut, Calvino, and Robertson Davies. His novels place touchingly ordinary men and women in intimate congress with the unknowabl
ISBN: 1857983416, 9781857983418
Keywords: policeman, tears, flow
Pages: 208
Published: 1974
  • Rating: 80%

Jason Taverner is a Six, the result of top secret government experiments forty years before which produced a handful of unnaturally bright and beautiful people - and he's the prime-time idol of millions until, inexplicably, all record of him is wiped from the data banks of Earth. Suddenly he's a nobody in a police state where nobody is allowed to be a nobody. Will he ever be rich and famous again? Was he, in fact, ever rich and famous?
ISBN: 0575074809, 9780575074804
Keywords: eldritch, palmer, stigmata, three
Pages: 231
Published: 1964
  • Rating: 80%

Dick at his wildest and strangest - a mystifying but brilliant book - SF: 100 Best Novels In the overcrowded world and cramped space colonies of the late 21st century, tedium can be endured through the drug Can-D, which enables users to inhabit a shared illusory world. When industrialist Palmer Eldritch returns from an interstellar trip, he brings with him a new drug, Chew-Z. It is far more potent than Can-D, but threatens to plunge the world into a permanent state of drugged illusion controlled by the mysterious Eldritch. He was the funniest SF writer of his time, and perhaps the most terri
ISBN: 0679734457, 9780679734451
Keywords: invasion, divine
Pages: 240
Published: 1981
  • Rating: 80%

In The Divine Invasion, Philip K. Dick asks: What if God?or a being called Yah?were alive and in exile on a distant planet? How could a second coming succeed against the high technology and finely tuned rationalized evil of the modern police state? The Divine Invasion "blends Judaism, Kabalah, Zoroastrianism, and Christianity into a fascinating fable of human existence"--West Coast Revew of Books.
ISBN: 0679734449, 9780679734444
Keywords: archer, timothy, transmigration
Pages: 256
Published: 1982
  • Rating: 80%

The Transmigration of Timothy Archer, the final novel in the trilogy that also includes Valis and The Divine Invasion, is an anguished, learned, and very moving investigation of the paradoxes of belief. It is the story of Timothy Archer, an urbane Episcopal bishop haunted by the suicides of his son and mistress--and driven by them into a bizarre quest for the identity of Christ.